The Steps Assessment System

We created The Steps following the introduction of the new National Curriculum in September 2014.

It is structured around the age-related expectations of the curriculum, and embedded within it are the requirements to ensure depth and breadth of learning. It starts from the Foundation Stage and continues through Key Stages 1 and 2, so it allows us to monitor and track a child's progress through out their time with us. It was written to be 'child-friendly', so it can be used by staff, pupils and parents alike, to show achievements and next steps in learning. It is organised as a progression to show a child's journey through learning in a subject area.

Click here to learn about how the system operates

 Children will work through each step in progression.

  • Exploring = working towards the expectations of the step.
  • Achieving = achieving expected outcomes for that age.
  • Exceeding = working beyond the expected outcomes for that age.

 English has been separated into the following strands:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Punctuation and Grammar
  • Spelling

 Maths has been separated into the following strands:

  • Number
  • Geometry (for Step 1, Geometry and Measurement are combined
  • Measurement into Shape, Space and Measure)
  • Statistics (for Step 3 and above)
  • Algebra (for Steps 6 and 7)

The below documents show the specific requirements in the different subject areas for each of the Steps.  You can use these to see where your child is at in their learning, and what their next steps will be.

If you have any questions about how your child is doing at school, please feel free to come and talk to us.  Your child's class teacher is always the best person to approach first.  We are always more than happy to answer questions and explain anything you are unsure of.